A Day In The Life (of an inspired academic)

This time last week I really had no idea what was about to happen. I knew that I was going to attend an event organised by @documentally in Cardiff. I knew it was called multimedia storymaking. I suspected that I might be a little inspired. Honestly, I had no idea.
I also knew that I was committed to a video film shoot in West Wales on Thursday. More of that in a future post.
The event on Monday has been documented on Storify. I think my picture is in there somewhere, not saying which one though! The Storify aspect gave me the idea to produce a Storify on the videos we are making, and which we started shooting on Thursday.
But, before that happened, I had what was something of a Damascan moment (is that the right word?) It occurred to me as I was listening to the brilliant @Documentally, that my online presence was really little more than a Twitter account (@OUSocSciCymru).

20130607-183039.jpg
For me, and I am primarily an educator, technology is good if it helps in the process of teaching and learning. So, as I wandered through Cardiff on Monday, my main concern was not creating a story there and then, but rather how to use all these apps to increase my ability to teach.
Now, a little confession. I have blogged before. In fact I blogged regularly for almost a year for tutors in Wales. That blog kinda died through inertia. So on Monday I thought why restrict the blog to a few people? Why not blog to the World?
And, with that thought and no more than a half hour spent, Thinking Socially was born.
My conclusions are: 1. Blogs are easy to set up 2. They are, relatively, easy to write, and 3. Why are they not more common amongst academics? After all, most (all?) academics have plenty to say, why not do so in the risk free environment of a blog?

2 thoughts on “A Day In The Life (of an inspired academic)

  1. Risk free? Hm. Like any social situation a blog leaves you vulnerable to judgment/criticism – I am sure ‘social anxiety’ applies to cyberspace as well as physical space? Call me a wuss, but I would feel very vulnerable broadcasting my thoughts and inspirations. I enjoy reading other peoples though!

    • Good point Lindsay. I do agree that “risk free” may be over-egging it slightly. What I meant was that for an academic putting your thoughts out there is part and parcel of what we do. Having collected a disappointingly high number of rejection letters over the years (grants, book proposals, journal articles, promotion cases etc) it strikes me that my ego is likely to suffer less damage blogging. At worst nobody reads it, at best you start to make connections with lots (okay, one or two) new people you would otherwise not have met. Just to clarify, on the rejection front, it is estimated that something like 3 out of 4 journal articles are rejected on first sending, only 1 in every 6 grant applications succeed. There are an increasing number of us chasing an ever decreasing pool of resources.

Leave a Reply

